Skip to content

French public trustee still not known, other trustees elected

While most trustees acclaimed and Robin Talbot voted in for English Public, French Public awaiting other Barrie-area municipalities for official result announcement
Robin Talbot was elected this week as English public school board trustee in the North Simcoe municipal elections.

Days after this week’s municipal election, not all results have been officially announced for North Simcoe school board trustees.

The race between French public school board trustee candidates Saveria Caruso and Eric Lapointe has not provided a declared winner as of the time of publication. 

Results will be officially provided through the city of Barrie’s municipal election results web page for all members of council, as well as school boards throughout the region.

Included in those results are the member for Conseil scolaire Viamonde (formerly Conseil scolaire de district du Centre Sud-Ouest) Sector 5, with Caruso and Lapointe listed as the candidates to represent Bruce, Grey, Simcoe and Dufferin Counties.

According to a representative in the Barrie election office, results will be officially announced through the website once all electoral races have been received and certified by the city clerk.

However, the rest of North Simcoe have announced the remaining school board trustee representatives from their municipal election races.

For the English public school board, Robin Talbot won as trustee for the upcoming term with 5,259 votes, defeating Tyler Boswell who received 3,894 votes.

Several school board trustees in North Simcoe received acclaimed results in their respective elections.

For the English separate school board Michael D’Amelio was acclaimed, and for the French separate school board Claire Thibideau was acclaimed.

Specific to Penetanguishene, all Protestant separate school board trustees have been acclaimed: Lynne Cousens, Gregory Scott Craftchick, Elizabeth DesRochers, Kyle Graham, April LeBlanc, Cathie Sindall, and Lindsay Stewart.

For information on the school board trustee elected for any given municipality, contact the representative municipal clerk for further updates.

Derek Howard, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter

About the Author: Derek Howard, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter

Derek Howard covers Midland and Penetanguishene area civic issues under the Local Journalism Initiative, which is funded by the Government of Canada.
Read more

Reader Feedback