Skip to content

SSEA thanks outgoing board members

'These civic leaders have performed admirably for the ratepayers of this watershed,' says association chair

Local community leaders are being recognized for their efforts to better the environment in this region.

The Severn Sound Environmental Association (SSEA) at its last regular meeting of this term presented certificates of appreciation to six outgoing board members including vice-chair Paul Wiancko (Georgian Bay Township), past chair Ron Stevens (Severn Township), Coun. Jeff Bumstead (Tay Township), Deputy Mayor Anita Dubeau (Town of Penetanguishene), Coun. Carole McGinn (Town of Midland) and Coun. Perry Ritchie (Township of Springwater).

“These civic leaders have performed admirably for the ratepayers of this watershed,” says SSEA chair Steffen Walma. “They have worked diligently to bring financial stability to this organization in order for SSEA to continue to provide invaluable environmental services to our eight-member municipalities including improving local water quality, reducing climate change impacts, and safeguarding our green spaces for the enjoyment of all.”

The Severn Sound Environmental Association was originally founded in 1997 as a partnership between federal, provincial and municipal partners to support work that would lead to the cleanup and eventual delisting of the Severn Sound area of concern.

“We are fortunate to have had such strong members from our partner municipalities,” says Julie Cayley, executive director of the Severn Sound Environmental Association. “Their historical knowledge of the municipalities and surrounding watersheds and their commitment to a positive environmental legacy is inspiring. We look forward to welcoming a new board in the new year.”

Member municipalities are expected to make their new appointments to the SSEA board early in 2023.