Skip to content

Shortlist announced for Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour

Drew Hayden Taylor, Amy Spurway and Heidi L.M. Jacobs are in the running for coveted medal and $15,000 prize
2019-05-09 Drew Hayden Taylor
Drew Hayden Taylor is one of three finalists announced today for the 2020 Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour.

The Stephen Leacock Associates board of directors is pleased to announce the shortlist for this year’s Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour.

In the running for the medal and $15,000 prize are, in alphabetical order by author surname:
    •    Heidi L.M. Jacobs, Molly of the Mall: Literary Lass and Purveyor of Fine Footwear (NeWest Press)
    •    Amy Spurway, CROW (Goose Lane Editions)
    •    Drew Hayden Taylor, Cottagers and Indians (Talonbooks)

The winner will be announced on Friday, June 5, 2020 by press release and social media. The usual Gala Dinner has had to be cancelled owing to the COVID-19 pandemic. The shortlisted authors will be invited to the gala weekend festivities in 2021.

“Our panel of judges has selected three finalists from the 84 books that were submitted this year,” said Leacock Associates president Michael Hill. “It’s a gruelling process to read and evaluate all those books and come up with three that merit being named to a ’short’ list. The Leacock Associates thank the readers for their time, effort and expertise.”

For more information about Stephen Leacock Associates, please visit our website.